Home Syllabus Calendar Project Opera Quizzes Resources Site map
CL 310 : Calendar
Change view
Week : Term
 
<< Unit 2: Catullus and Lesbia >>
   

Catullus' poems about Lesbia (a.k.a. Clodia) have assured his place in the canon of ancient authors.

In this unit we will explore the poems both as expressions of love and as expressions of art. To what extent do these carmina genuinely reflect Catullus's desire for his puella, and to what extent is the reader aware of poetic machine at work?

  Tuesday, February 14
  Due:
 

-- Cat. 5, 7, 16
-- Wiseman, Ch. 5, 130–7
-- Scansion drill 3

  Thursday, February 16
  Due:
 

-- Cat. 51, 43, 86
-- Wiseman, Ch. 5, 137–46

   
  Topics for today:
 

-- Report: Strileckis on Sappho
-- Scansion: Sapphic strophe (G., p. 181)

 

Sunday, February 19

  Due:
 

-- Quiz 1 (11:00 p.m.)

  Tuesday, February 21
  Due:
 

-- Cat. 2 (= 2a + 2b), 3
-- Wiseman, Ch. 5, 147–57
-- Thinking about MSS, part I
-- Scansion drill 4

  Thursday, February 23
  Due:
 

-- Cat. 70, 72, 83, 87, 92, 60
-- Wiseman, Ch. 5, 157–64

   
  Topics for today:
 

-- Scansion: elegiac couplet (G., p. 178)

  Sunday, February 26
  Due:
 

-- Project: poem choice (11:00 p.m.)

  Tuesday, February 28
  Due:
 

-- Cat. 75, 76
-- Wiseman, Ch. 5, 164–75
-- Preface and Rhythms (in Hexametrica)
-- Scansion drill 5

   
  Topics for today:
 

-- Report: Brady on Roman adultery
-- Discussions: overview

  Thursday, March 2
  Due:
 

-- Cat. 58, 79, 85, 107, 109
-- Wiseman, Ch. 5, 175–82

   
  Topics for today:
 

-- Scansion: limping iambics (G., p. 180)
-- Project: scansion/reading meetings

  Sunday, March 5
  Due:
 

-- Project: scansion/translation (11:00 p.m.)

  Tuesday, March 7
  Due:
 

-- Cat. 38, 8
-- Schmiel 1990–91, "The Structure of C. 8"

-- Scansion drill 6

   
  Topics for today:
 

-- Discussion: Cail on Schmiel

  Thursday, March 9
  Due:
 

-- Cat. 11
-- Forsyth 1991, "The Thematic Unity of C. 11"

   
  Topics for today:
 

-- Discussion: Le on Forsyth
-- Quiz 2 available

  Tuesday, March 14
  Spring break
  -- No classes held
  Thursday, March 16
  Spring break
  -- No classes held
<<   >>
.
Skidmore College Classics Department