Home Syllabus Calendar Reflections Stagings Project Site map
CC 223 : Calendar
Change view
Week : Term
 
<< Unit 3: Tragicomedy >>
   

Unit Three is devoted to the intersection of comedy and tragedy — that is, tragedy as both genre and as a fact of Athenian life during the Peloponnesian war.

By reading plays of the tragedian Euripides (c. 485 - 406 BCE), and the New Comedian, Menander (c. 344 - 292 BCE), students will both explore the line between comedy and tragedy, and assess how the decline of a city yields a paradigm shift in its comedy.

  Tuesday, March 1
  Due:
 

-- Podcast: What is Tragedy?
-- Euripides, Ion (Dionysia c. 410)
-- Reflections on Ion (by noon)

   
  Topics for today:
  -- Discussion: Ion, tragedy or comedy?
-- Staging: Gamma
  Thursday, March 3
  Due:
  -- Euripides, Cyclops (Dionysia c. 408)
-- Homer, Odyssey 9
-- Reflections on Cyclops (by noon)
   
  Topics for today:
  -- Discussion: Cyclops
-- Satyr play versus comedy and tragedy
-- Video: Cyclops: A Rock Opera (selections)
  Saturday, March 5
  Due:
  -- Project: Treatment (by 11:00 p.m.)
  Tuesday, March 8
  Due:
  -- Project: Treatment and DC comments
   
  Topics for today:
 

-- Project: All-class meeting

  Thursday, March 10
  Midterm examination
  Tuesday, March 15
  Spring break
  -- No classes held
  Thursday, March 17
  Spring break
  -- No classes held
  Tuesday, March 22
  Due:
 

-- Podcast: Menander and New Comedy
-- Menander, Grouch (Lenaea 316, first prize)

-- Reflections on Grouch (by noon)

   
  Topics for today:
  -- New comedy versus Old Comedy
-- Video: Secret A**hole (Liz DeVito, Theater '12)
  Thursday, March 24
  Topics for today:
 

-- Project: All-class meeting

  Saturday, March 26
  Due:
  -- Project: Rough script (by 11:00 p.m.)
  Tuesday, March 29
  Due:
  -- Menander, Girl from Samos (c. 310)
-- Reflections on Girl from Samos (by noon)
   
  Topics for today:
  -- Discussion: Girl from Samos
-- Staging: Alpha
<<   >>
.
© 2024 Skidmore College Classics Department