Home Syllabus Calendar Papers Project Resources Site map  
CC 220 : Calendar
Change view
Week : Term
 
<< Unit 3 : Mysteries >>
   

Unit 3 is dedicated to figures whose myths reflect their cults: Demeter, Hades, Dionysus, and Orpheus.

Their worship took the form of mystery cults, though they are also mysterious in the ordinary sense.

  Monday, October 9
  Due
 

-- HH 2: To Demeter (33–58)

   
  Topics for today
  -- Demeter and Persephone
-- Handout: Homeric Hymn to Demeter
  Wednesday, October 11
  Due
 

-- Met 8: Erysichthon & his daughter (293–300)
-- MLS 14: Demeter etc. (339–56: skim overlap)

   
  Topics for today
  -- The Eleusinian Mysteries
-- Video: Persephone in Percy Jackson (2010)
 

Friday, October 13

  Due
 

-- EH Od. 11: The Nekyia (332–51)

   
  Topics for today
 

-- Going to Hades
-- The hero's katabasis

 

Saturday, October 14

  Due
 

-- Papers: #2 (11:00 p.m.)

  Monday, October 16
  Due
 

-- MLS 15: Views of the Afterlife (359–84: skim overlap)

   
  Topics for today
  -- The evolving afterlife
-- Audio: Anais Mitchell's Hadestown (2010, excerpts)
  Wednesday, October 18
  Due
 

-- Met 10–11: Ovid's Orpheus (341–71: skim familiar stories)
-- MLS 16: Orpheus etc. (388–400: skim overlap)

   
  Topics for today
  -- Orpheus and Orphism
-- Other mystery cults
 

Friday, October 20

  Due
 

-- HH 7: To Dionysus (141–4)
-- HH 19: To Pan (153–4)
-- MLS 13: Dionysus etc. (304–30: skim overlap)

   
  Topics for today
  -- Dionysus & interiority
-- Pan is not everything
  Monday, October 23
  Due
 

-- Met 3: Bacchus & Pentheus (111–19)
-- Met 6: Tereus, Procne, & Philomela (206–18)

   
  Topics for today
 

-- Dionysus & theatricality
-- What is Tragedy?

-- Handout: Midterm 2 preview

  Wednesday, October 25
  Due
 

-- Aeschylus, The Suppliants

   
  Topics for today
  -- Who was Aeschylus?
-- The City Dionysia
 

Friday, October 27

  Due
 

-- Charles Mee, Big Love

   
  Topics for today
  -- Remaking a classic, part 1
 

Saturday, October 28

  Due
 

-- Semester project: Outline

  Monday, October 30
  Due
 

-- Review Charles Mee's Remaking Project
-- Read one of Mee's other Greek-themed plays

   
  Topics for today
 

-- Remaking a classic, part 2
-- Conversation with cast & crew of Big Love

  Wednesday, November 1
  Due
 

-- Semester Project: Review peer outlines

   
  Topics for today
  -- Peer critiques of outlines
 

Friday, November 3

  Midterm examination 2
<<   >>
.
© 2021 Skidmore College Classics Department